Author Topic: New player looking to start playing!  (Read 2372 times)

theletterj

New player looking to start playing!
« on: August 03, 2010, 12:46:15 PM »
I'm new to DnD and would really like to learn how to play. I'd like to know what nights are best for a noob to learn. I saw the schedule and I'm unsure of what days are noob friendly. Thank you. ^___^;;

Jess

• Heroic Tier Level 2
    • Email
Re: New player looking to start playing!
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2010, 02:15:30 PM »
D&D Encounters is every Wednesday at 7:30. It is a 4th edition based game.
You can see the Dark Sun thread to get an idea of what the world is.
Even though this week would be week 9 people rotate in and out depending on real life situations, and we are always more than happy to explain the game mechanics.

I find 4th edition to be the easiest to learn, plus they have an online character generator which is great for people like me who dreaded going through a stack of books with pencil in hand to make one.
Me: Mending isn't healing, if Todd's shirt rips I can "mend" it.
Kurt: That's just a racial ability you have.

theletterj

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2010, 05:30:26 PM »
That's the edition I have. So I can just start even though it's already in progress? That time and day works well for me! I'm going to be reading everything I can before tomorrow (since it's wednesday and everything. I'd like to start sooner than later. :P) I don't know if I'll use the character generator though, I want to put some thought into creating a character since it's my first one. I'm glad to hear you guys are open to noobs. Haha. :)

theletterj

« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2010, 05:33:40 PM »
Oh I forgot to ask. Does it cost anything to play?

Jess

• Heroic Tier Level 2
    • Email
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2010, 09:44:52 AM »
First, it is 100% free!
Second, people come and go from the game depending on real life so it idoesn't matter if you jump in :)