Battleground Games Forum

Games Workshop => Warhammer 40K => Topic started by: Benjamin on June 13, 2011, 03:20:54 PM

Title: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Benjamin on June 13, 2011, 03:20:54 PM
Because people frequently asked questions.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1830601a_Grey_Knights_v1_0.pdf

Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Benjamin on June 13, 2011, 03:21:45 PM
Oops, clearly this was supposed to end up in the 40k thread. Can it be moved?
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Ian Mulligan on June 13, 2011, 03:53:45 PM
Thoughts as I read this:

1. Surprised to see Mandrakes on the list of daemons. Did they get reconned into something weird?

2. Scout shunt aborted. I don't think anyone is surprised or really cares. Once again, hilariously inconsistent with earlier rulings on scout moves with skimmers and other vehicles with smoke.

3. Dreadknight moving like jump infantry is the best possible outcome.

4. AND FINALLY THE INTERNET CAN SHUT UP ABOUT NEMESIS FALCHIONS.

5. Not really amazing or anything, but its cool to see a list of weapons that shoot plasma. I thought burst cannons were projectile weapons. I honestly have no idea what the rule is or what it does.
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: the_trooper on June 13, 2011, 06:15:08 PM
Thoughts as I read this:

1. Surprised to see Mandrakes on the list of daemons. Did they get reconned into something weird?

2. Scout shunt aborted. I don't think anyone is surprised or really cares. Once again, hilariously inconsistent with earlier rulings on scout moves with skimmers and other vehicles with smoke.

3. Dreadknight moving like jump infantry is the best possible outcome.

4. AND FINALLY THE INTERNET CAN SHUT UP ABOUT NEMESIS FALCHIONS.

5. Not really amazing or anything, but its cool to see a list of weapons that shoot plasma. I thought burst cannons were projectile weapons. I honestly have no idea what the rule is or what it does.

It's as though a thousand mouth breathers learned how to breath through their nose all at once...
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Bill on June 13, 2011, 07:05:23 PM
The Grey Knights FAQ was pretty much as expected what upset me was the rulebook FAQ which accompanied it. The rule book FAQ stated that unless it states that it cannot; psychic powers stack. Hammerhand spam ftw. Here come the str8 i6 purifiers!! woohoo!!
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Rob S on June 13, 2011, 07:08:22 PM
Quote
Q: Can models in Terminator armour embark onto an Inquisitorial Chimera? (p51) A: Yes.


ಠ_ಠ
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Ian Mulligan on June 13, 2011, 07:43:38 PM
Rob,

I know this information, which has been in the game since 3rd ed, is shocking. But, I promise you everything will be fine.
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Rob S on June 13, 2011, 10:01:36 PM
Rob,

I know this information, which has been in the game since 3rd ed, is shocking. But, I promise you everything will be fine.

The concept just baffles me.
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Grand Master Steve on June 13, 2011, 10:12:22 PM
Chimeras have more room then Rhinos. If you think about it they can hold Ogryns so why not Terminators?
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Rob S on June 14, 2011, 10:24:44 AM
Chimeras have more room then Rhinos. If you think about it they can hold Ogryns so why not Terminators?

Ogryns don't weigh 500 pounds each.

You're telling me it makes sense that a Land Raider has the same space and ability to transport terminators as a Chimera?
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Grimwulfe on June 14, 2011, 10:58:08 AM
Are you kidding me Ogryns dont weigh 500 pounds?  Probably more like 600.
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: KestrelM1 on June 14, 2011, 11:04:59 AM
Ogryns don't weigh 500 pounds each.

You're telling me it makes sense that a Land Raider has the same space and ability to transport terminators as a Chimera?

You're telling me you haven't known this since 3rd edition?
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: the_trooper on June 14, 2011, 11:37:09 AM
My Ogryn weigh a few ounces.  Must be because they are resin.
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Rob S on June 14, 2011, 01:42:50 PM
Ogryns don't weigh 500 pounds each.

You're telling me it makes sense that a Land Raider has the same space and ability to transport terminators as a Chimera?

You're telling me you haven't known this since 3rd edition?

It being a rule != it making sense fluffwise.  A land raider, the quintessential super-transport, which has the ability to transport 10 Space Marines has the same capacity as a Chimera, made to get guardsmen to battle with a few bumps and scratches?

I don't care about the rule, it's just weird to imagine that.
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: the_trooper on June 14, 2011, 02:30:54 PM
Ogryns don't weigh 500 pounds each.

You're telling me it makes sense that a Land Raider has the same space and ability to transport terminators as a Chimera?

You're telling me you haven't known this since 3rd edition?

It being a rule != it making sense fluffwise.  A land raider, the quintessential super-transport, which has the ability to transport 10 Space Marines has the same capacity as a Chimera, made to get guardsmen to battle with a few bumps and scratches?

I don't care about the rule, it's just weird to imagine that.

I usually just get stuck at the whole riding giant ugly wolves bit.
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Grimwulfe on June 14, 2011, 03:12:56 PM
Dont guardsmen ride horses?  didnt know they had wolves to...
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Achillius on June 14, 2011, 04:22:47 PM
Chimeras have more room then Rhinos. If you think about it they can hold Ogryns so why not Terminators?

Ogryns don't weigh 500 pounds each.

You're telling me it makes sense that a Land Raider has the same space and ability to transport terminators as a Chimera?

Well a chimera can carry one more terminator than the basic land raider ;)

And as Ogryns are bigger than terminators I've no problems with this at all.

Of course that's probably no surprise ....

Cheers,
Alan
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Sekacnap on June 14, 2011, 04:40:52 PM
My daemons are crying already....
Title: Re: Grey Knights FAQ released
Post by: Ian Mulligan on June 16, 2011, 03:13:33 AM
I just noticed that with the new 40k rulebook FAQ, Hammerhand stacks. Fucking stupid.