Author Topic: New to X-Wing  (Read 2030 times)

takenogundam1

• Heroic Tier Level 2
    • Email
New to X-Wing
« on: October 12, 2014, 04:34:36 AM »
Hey all. I am dabbling in picking up X-Wing, but I know next to nothing about the game. Not even sure what faction I would want to play....
I guess I'm looking for a little insight into the various factions play style, ships ect. A quick primer if you will.
I'm a veteran miniature gamer, and currently play Star Trek Attack Wing.
thanks!
Take a moment, please. Ponder the depths of your insignificance."

"It would be disappointing if you were unable to overcome this simplest of defenses. Hilarious, but disappointing."

Benjamin

• God
    • Email
Re: New to X-Wing
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2014, 11:26:04 PM »
http://www.battlegroundgames.com/forum/index.php?topic=7764.0

The first post was designed with new players in mind. Bunch of resources. Brian is a nice guy, he'll be able to answer questions.

commanderfrost

• Heroic Tier Level 3
    • X-Wing Community Thread!
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2014, 07:44:32 AM »
Hey there!

First off, welcome to the game. :) As Ben said, the community thread has a ton of information and resources linked into it. It is a pretty good starting point for just getting a general feel of the game. In regards to how the factions play, there are a few basic rules of thumb with exceptions to those rules on both sides.

Rebels: Sturdy and Adaptable. The Rebel ships typically come with shields and several "upgrade" slots. Rebels tend toward squadrons of ships with synergistic and support abilities. - A very popular list for the rebels right now involves Han Solo piloting the Falcon with a ton of upgrades and one or two other very small support ships.

Empire: Strength in Numbers. The Empire's ships are lower in cost than their Rebel counterparts, allowing them to field a larger force in general. - A swarm of 8 Tie Fighters is a fearsome sight for any pilot!