Author Topic: Endless Nights  (Read 7690 times)

Guu

• Paragon Tier Level 12
    • Email
Endless Nights
« on: August 15, 2008, 10:52:44 PM »
Hi gang.  This is a general information thread for my 4th edition campaign.  The idea will be to play this game when scheduling or whatever other problems prevent us from playing in Ben's game.

The setting will be my homebrew world, called Auris, which I've been revamping off and on for the past several months.  Because the system we're using is D&D 4th ed., big changes to the world aren't wholly necessary.  We'll be learning about the place as we go along.

First off, I thought I'd include basic game information including house rules.

What People are Planning to Play
AJ:  Human Ranger
Rick:  Human Wizard
Steve:  Tiefling Warlock
Ben:  Dragonborn Paladin
Tom:  Human Cleric

Ability Scores
You can use a standard array or a 22 point buy, which as we know are equivalent.  I'll probably add up your points before we start, so you might want to be sure your math is correct.  I reserve the right to mock you openly if your scores are off.  (And I'll make you fix your scores too.)

Shadow Levels
This is a concept introduced to me by a friend and one I like a lot.  Every level you earn in one of my campaigns earns you a shadow level.  Basically, you can use shadow levels to increase your power level should you roll new character, trading your shadow levels in for character levels on a 1 for 1 basis. 

What does this mean?  If your 6th level fighter dies (or you just can't see any reason to continue adventuring with him), then you can create a new 6th level character.  You could also create a 5th level character and bank one level if you wanted.  This rule takes the sting out of death if things go south, and sometimes they do go south!

Who's Pitching the Tent?