Author Topic: Armies of Immoren: The Protectorate of Menoth!  (Read 13652 times)

Ian Mulligan

• God
  • Egotistical Powergamer
    • Mutants and Shit
    • Email
Armies of Immoren: The Protectorate of Menoth!
« on: July 09, 2008, 12:04:49 AM »
(Here's a link to the main post about the Armies of Immoren project: http://www.battlegroundgames.com/forum/index.php?topic=62.0)

I've been playing Warmachine since 2002 and with the exception of a short stint playing Cygnar for a few weeks last year, I have never touched anything outside of Khador. When my fiancee decided to get into the game, I thought this would be the perfect time to finally pick up a second faction. After days of deliberation, jumping between Cryx, Trollbloods, and the Protectorate, I made my decision.

The most challenging games I've ever played in Warmachine were against seasoned Protectorate players. The synergies the army generates can make even the lowliest of warriors take down armored behemoths. Many of their warcaster's spells have so many uses, it takes months to pick up on the nuances. Beyond that, the faction has some of the best beatsticks in the game. The possible synergies, finesse, and access to some brute force adds up to a faction I am pretty excited to be starting.

A 350 point list forces a lot of compromise and I knew when I started writing it that a lot of units I wanted to use would have to sit out for a month or two. Picking a warcaster was ESPECIALLY hard. The High Reclaimer, Grand Exemplar Kreoss, and the brand new High Executioner Servath Reznik are all awesome. I narrowed it down to the High Reclaimer or Reznik. It was a tough choice, but Reznik's brute force and 'jack love made him win out in the end. The list I finally decided on was decent balance between models I want to use RIGHT NOW and things that are legitimately good at the point level we'll be playing at. Here's what I'm planning on starting with:

High Executioner Servath Reznik
     - Redeemer
     - Revenger